Wedding Favourites 2016 [Natural Light Photographer][Light and Airy Photography][C&E Collective]

dsc_0803
WHY IT’S MY FAV: This was one of my favourite wedding rings of the season (I feel like I say that about every ring but what can I say, diamonds are a girl’s best friend). I love being able to incorporate elements of a wedding day into my ring shots and for this one, I was able to use the bride’s stunning lace dress!
dsc_6792
WHY IT’S MY FAV: I just love these two.  This is Josh and Vanessa, my cousin and her new husband. Vanessa was the most relaxed bride and she had so much faith in me it was the biggest confidence booster for the start of my 2016 season.  I also LOVE the baby’s breath scattered throughout her braid.  It was a huge trend this year and I’m hoping it will continue into next year’s weddings!
dsc_2767
WHY IT’S MY FAV: I love being able to capture all of the little details of a wedding day that the bride has picked out – especially at the start of the day.  Getting ready rooms always have the best buzz and excitement that I love being apart of and I think that translates into the photos taken at the beginning of the day!
dsc_2165-2
WHY IT’S MY FAV: Gosh I love this bridal portrait.  There are some photos that I need to get home to see on the big screen before I really start to love them, but with this photo I knew straight away it would be a favourite.  Kait is so stunning and I think her excitement shines through the camera.  Also that flower crown, I mean…it’s perfection.
dsc_2205
WHY IT’S MY FAV: You would never guess it, but this photo was taken right in the heart of downtown Hamilton.  The thing that I love most about that city is all of its hidden gems and this secret garden was no exception.  Tim and Sandi were married within these walls and the whole day was stunning!
dsc_7803
WHY IT’S MY FAV: I had no idea what to expect for Rafaela’s dress as her and Michael were having a second, larger, celebration in her home country, Brazil.  Let me tell you I was not disappointed! It was the cutest cocktail length dress with the most incredible beading I have ever laid eyes on. I hope she gets another chance to wear this beauty!
dsc_7166
WHY IT’S MY FAV: Oh these two were just so incredibly sweet with each other and that’s why this is the first of many favourites from their September wedding.  I love the unexpected pop of yellow from the Black Eyed Susans poking through in the background in this photo.
dsc_8809
WHY IT’S MY FAV: Flowers and rings and all of the pretty things. Shout out to my friend Kate for helping me out with this ring shot by holding the stem of the flower up, I seriously couldn’t have done it without you 😉
dsc_7684
WHY IT’S MY FAV: I like to live vicariously through other people because I love tattoos but am too much of a baby to ever get one (also my Mom might kill me (also, hi Mom)). Jay had his fiancée’s name tattooed on his hand and right when I saw it I was all “hold that hand there, I need a picture”.
dsc_4928
WHY IT’S MY FAV: This dress was so unique.  All of the layers with the beaded bodice (what am I, a Say Yes to the Dress consultant?) made for one stunning dress.  Marta carried this gown so well, she made for one heck of a bride!
dsc_6750
WHY IT’S MY FAV: Oh these guys! This bridal party was so fun.  I spent all morning with them while they were getting ready and by the end of the night I was deemed their token white girl.  I’ve never felt so special.
dsc_1682
WHY IT’S MY FAV: Gosh I love a good headless shot. The cloudiness of this day created a soft light that we don’t get very often during the summer months but this day in October was overcast and glorious. I also absolutely love Molly’s romantic lace dress and her bouquet was a favourite of mine from the year!
dsc_4277
WHY IT’S MY FAV: KATE SPADE SHOES…need I say more?
dsc_6899
WHY IT’S MY FAV: This was hand’s down my favourite bouquet of the year.  Not only were the colours gorgeous but the bride, Nicole, had a charm with her mother’s photo in it attached to the stem so she could carry the memory of her mother with her the entire day. Just beautiful!
dsc_3122
WHY IT’S MY FAV:  This was the first wedding I had ever shot in the Distillery District and it did not disappoint.  For a girl who is used to shooting in nature with no one around, this came with a unique set of challenges.  Thankfully Priya and Nathan weren’t shy about posing in front of strangers and I was delighted with how their wedding gallery turned out!
dsc_2093
WHY IT’S MY FAV: Be still my heart.  This is my little nephew and his Uncle Tim.  This little guy wasn’t actually in the bridal party but they matched so perfectly we had to grab of shot of them. Bowties and suspenders will never go out of style (says me, your personal stylist).
dsc_5500
WHY IT’S MY FAV: Oh look, another ring shot.  No surprise here.  I think my camera lens just gravitates towards wedding rings.  In my defense, the brides of 2016 had some huge, shiny diamonds.  I just can’t resist.
dsc_1712
WHY IT’S MY FAV: I absolutely love the way the sunlight is hitting Andrew and Michelle in this picture.  It’s giving them the perfect glow. I was also a huge fan of this photo location.  Rocky with tons of huge trees and right by the water.  It reminded me of cottage country and if there’s one thing I love, it’s cottage country.
dsc_5928
WHY IT’S MY FAV: Remember way up near the top of this post when I said how baby’s breath was a huge trend this year…case and point.  I loved Allysin’s updo with flowers all throughout. I think it’s the perfect alternative for brides who love flower crowns but don’t want to fully commit. Also I love the simplicity and minimalism of this image.
dsc_4197
WHY IT’S MY FAV: More rings, I know, I need to stop. But seriously people, SO PRETTY. I swear my job entails more than just staring at shiny things all day.
dsc_6947
WHY IT’S MY FAV: Oh Lanie you are so incredibly joyful! Your smile was contagious on your wedding day.  I think if you had of taken of photo of me taking a photo of her (can you say Inception?), I would have had the biggest smile on my face because this day was just full of happiness!
dsc_4159
WHY IT’S MY FAV: This reception space was decorated to perfection.  As we all know by now, I love romantic décor and this room was full of it! From roses, to hydrangeas, to lace to brush lettered signage.  I was a huge fan of it all and I have the 9,876 pictures to prove it.
dsc_7036
WHY IT’S MY FAV: I love the way the trees are framing Lanie and Brandt in this images.  I also used a tilt-shift effect which softens the entire images and I love me some soft imagery!

And there we have it folks.  My list of favourite wedding images from 2016 and my last blog post of the year! It’s a little strange and bittersweet to say goodbye to this year.  I’ve had the privilege of working and learning from so many amazing photographers this year (Mike Streeter, Pure Aperture, Kate Watkinson, Denise Belanger, Veronica Paulsen and Julie Broadbendt – just to name a few). I am sincerely thankful for all of these people who have made my wedding season so much better! I would also like to thank all of the brides, grooms, couples and families who have trusted me with capturing the most important moments of your life this year!

I am so looking forward to 2017 and what the year has to hold for me and my business!

Catch you on the flippity-flip!

Leave a Reply

