2016 Lifestyle + Family Favourites

dsc_0517

WHY IT’S MY FAV: Where do I start? This is my good friend Kate.  She had just graduated from her undergrad + I was so stinking proud of her.  Add to that the golden light + that killer smize? A winning combo making it the first on my list of favourite lifestyle photos for the year!
DATE: June 14/16
SETTINGS: 50mm f1.8 1/1000sec. ISO200

dsc_3203

WHY IT’S MY FAV: I mean, just look at those faces and tell me you wouldn’t put this in your favourites for the year.  Also stoked that this client was so thrilled with her family pictures that she ordered 7 canvases of her favourite images from the session (that’s right, 7!).
DATE: October 7/16
SETTINGS:50mm f2.8 1/400sec. ISO400

dsc_9733

WHY IT’S MY FAV: This one was a bit of a challenge for me I must admit.  That handsome dude in the picture? Ya, he hates his photo being taken so I was forced to get creative! Nothing like a picture where you’re not even looking at the camera, amirite? An even bigger win when I got home and realized that he was actually smiling! EH OH!
DATE: September 12/16
SETTINGS: 50mm f2.2 1/200sec. ISO400

dsc_8508

WHY IT’S MY FAV: There are a couple of reasons why this image stands out to me.  First of all because that’s my sweet friend Laura + her beautiful little girl Lettie.  Laura is just the best Mom + I loved being able to capture the love she has for her babe.  Another reason this image is a favourite is that I absolutely HATE the month of November so being able to capture this sweet light made me realize that golden light isn’t just for the summer months.
DATE: November 17/16
SETTINGS: 85mm f2.8 1/640sec. ISO400

dsc_7484

WHY IT’S MY FAV: This image just screams summer to me and that’s my favourite season so why wouldn’t I love it!  Also there are lilacs in the image and I can practically smell them through the screen.  Also that gorgeous model in the image is a dear friend of mine and she is just the absolute sweetest and was such a trooper for my vision with this shoot.
DATE: May 30/16
SETTINGS: 50mm f2.8 1/200sec. ISO250

dsc_4796

WHY IT’S MY FAV: Anyone who photographs kids (I’m looking at you parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles and the list goes on) knows how difficult it can be to get the perfect shot.  This image was a huge win for me with two kiddos running around at this session.  She was such a sweetie + gave me this adorable look while sitting on her Mama’s lap and it just melted my heart!
DATE: October 11/16
SETTINGS: 85mm f2.8 1/800sec. ISO250

dsc_6645

WHY IT’S MY FAV: Just look at those chubby little cheeks and those sweet little eyes! This is my niece Nora and my goodness she is just a doll. I love her pensive look in the image and the way she is holding on so tightly to her stuffed animal.  Way to go Nora, making me want babies and stuff.
DATE: October 23/16
SETTINGS: 85mm f2.8 1/1250sec. ISO250

dsc_3619

WHY IT’S MY FAV: This is a shot from Liz + Laura’s sister session.  I prompted them to splash their feet in the water and I loved that they did the exact same thing at the exact same time.  I feel like it’s just the epitome of twinning and they are actual twins so it really couldn’t get any better.
DATE: June 26/16
SETTINGS: 50mm f1.8 1/4000sec. ISO400

dsc_3566

WHY IT’S A FAV: This had to be one of the coldest days of the year.  Okay no, not really but geez it was freezing for May! Even though it was cold, the light this day was so soft and beautiful, and made everyone look amazing and I was a big fan.  Oh and did I mention this is my family? If you can find me in this crowd I’ll give you $5 (no I won’t please don’t ask me for it)
DATE: May 1/16
SETTINGS: 50mm f2.8 1/1250sec. ISO320

dsc_9509

WHY IT’S MY FAV: Gosh I just love it when kiddos hold hands! Photographing in a forest can sometimes be a bit tricky as it tends to get a little dark for my liking, but on that day, the sun was hitting the background just perfectly creating the perfect amount of light and softness.  Huge win!
DATE: September 12/16
SETTINGS: 50mm f2.8 1/160sec. ISO400

dsc_8199

WHY IT’S MY FAV: That’s my sweet Mama! Basically that’s all I need to say because she’s the best.  She’s my Mom, my friend, my encourager, the best baker in the world and the list goes on.  This photo was taken the day before her XXth birthday and she couldn’t look better (did you really think I’d tell you her age?).
DATE: November 12/16
SETTINGS: 50mm f2.8 1/640sec. ISO200

dsc_9167

WHY IT’S MY FAV: This lens is one of my favourites to shoot with.  The bokeh (blurred background) is just delightful! It worked especially well with the setting of the train tracks.  Also this little man and his adorable little outfit was too much to handle.  He was such a happy little guy + it was great fun photographing him!
DATE: September 11/16
SETTINGS: 85mm f1.8 1/4000sec. ISO200

dsc_5361

WHY IT’S MY FAV: This image just makes me smile.  Miss Miley has the spunkiest little personality and she cracks me up.  Besides Miley’s hilarious expression, I love the relationship these two have and I am very happy I’m able to capture this family!
DATE: October 13/16
SETTINGS: 50mm f2.8 1/320sec ISO400

dsc_9859

WHY IT’S MY FAV: Little Jack didn’t like his blue cake so much (in fact I think he was terrified of it) so I was happy to grab these shots before the cake of doom came into play.  He’s such a happy little guy and that hat….I LITERALLY CANNOT
DATE: September 12/16
SETTINGS: 85mm f2.2 1/1000sec. ISO400

dsc_9590

WHY IT’S MY FAV: More cuties who also happen to be my nieces and nephew! I love the expressions on all of their faces so much it hurts and the fact that little Cohes is going barefoot, adorable.  A boy after my own heart! Also that end of summer glow is coming through the trees and I think I can hear the angels singing.
DATE: September 12/16
SETTINGS: 50mm f2.8 1/160sec ISO400

dsc_9710
WHY IT’S MY FAV: The way Claire was swooning over her new baby boy (only 5 days old!) was the absolute cutest.  I couldn’t get enough of shooting these two together.  The bond was strong with these ones.
DATE: December 8/16
SETTINGS: 50mm f1.8 1/80sec ISO1000

And there you have it! My list of favourites from this year! Keep an eye out on the blog in the next coming weeks because more favourites from 2016 are coming your way!

 

2 thoughts on “2016 Lifestyle + Family Favourites

Leave a Reply

